Mökki time

Mushroom pickingPoisonous mushroomFinnish MushroomLake in LohjaMushroom basket

I am a city girl. But I have to say that 2 days in the mökki  just recharges my batteries.

“Saunaing”, swimming in the lake, mushroom picking, drinking … are the main activities. There are 2 types of mökki, the traditional one without electricity and running water and the modern one. Those secondary residences are passed from generations.

I remember the first time I have been to a traditional mökki. I came with my heels and my dress ready to party in the country. I ended up going to the käymälä (compost toilet outside) bare feet and grilling sausages in the fire.

*

Je suis une fille de la ville mais je dois dire que 2 jours au mökki me permet de recharger les batteries.

Sauna, baignades au lac, collecte de champignons en forêt … sont au programme. Il y a deux types de mökki, le traditionnel sans électricité et sans eau courante et la version plus moderne. Ces résidences secondaires restent dans la famille pendant des générations.

Je me souviens de la première fois où j’ai été invitée dans un mökki version traditionnelle. Je suis arrivée toute prête à faire la fête à la campagne avec ma petite robe à fleurs et mes chaussures à talons. J’ai fini par me rendre au käymälä (cabine de toilette extérieure à composte) pieds nus et à griller mes saucisses au feu de bois.

One thought on “Mökki time

Leave a Reply

